Activate, deactivate, refresh, and add guests to Sandbox, so your isolated testing environment is both current and secure. Management activity will appear in an Audit table so you can track the Sandbox’s status.

FYI: This capability is available only for accounts that have purchased Sandbox. To learn more, see HiBob's HRIS features.

How to activate Sandbox

The Sandbox environment is inactive by default or after it has been deactivated automatically or manually. The environment doesn’t exist when deactivated, and no user can access it.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Sandbox under Account.
  2. Click Activate Sandbox. Then, click Activate if you are reactivating Sandbox.
    You may leave the screen while Sandbox is being activated. You will receive an email once the Sandbox is active. After activating or refreshing Sandbox, only Admin users or guests are marked as Invited in Sandbox.

To learn how to configure the user emails to test emails and other communications, see Test in Sandbox.

How to refresh Sandbox

Reflect the current state of your organization's data and configuration by refreshing Sandbox. This will copy your production environment's most recent data and configuration into the sandbox environment.

Tip: Before you refresh, notify each Sandbox member to ensure their configurations are not lost before manually applying changes to the production environment. 

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Sandbox under Account.
  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, click Refresh Sandbox.
    Any Admin who accesses Sandbox during refresh will receive a notification that a refresh is already in progress.
  3. Click Apply.
    You may leave the screen while Sandbox is refreshing. You will receive an email that the Sandbox has been refreshed. After 60 days, the Sandbox will expire, and the Sandbox will automatically deactivate, deleting its content.

Note: All emails in the application will have the suffix .sbx added to them so that emails aren't sent to people from Sandbox, now including external and personal email addresses. The external and personal email addresses will be reflected only after the next refresh, or up to 60 days from the last refresh, in the event you don't refresh between the time you last refreshed/activated Sandbox on or after November 28th, 2022.

How to deactivate Sandbox

Your production and Sandbox environments contain sensitive data and should be regularly evaluated and refreshed. As a result, the sandbox will be accessible for 60 days from the date of activation, but an Admin can deactivate the Sandbox before the 60 days are over.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Sandbox under Account.
  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, click Deactivate.
  3. Click Deactivate.
    No one will be able to access the Sandbox environment, and its content will be deleted. An Admin may reactivate the Sandbox. You will receive an email that the Sandbox has been deactivated.

How to add guests to Sandbox

Employees can test changes to the system in Sandbox when they are added as guests. Any changes Sandbox members make in the shared Sandbox environment are saved in the Sandbox but won't affect the production environment. Once you’ve activated Sandbox at least once, you can add or remove guests whether the sandbox is active or inactive.

The sandbox environment includes real sensitive data, so be considerate of who you provide access to. The same permissions applied to the user in the production environment also apply in Sandbox. The user can access the same configurations and data they can access in Sandbox as they can in production.

You may change guest permissions in Sandbox to test different access levels without impacting access in the production environment. To learn more, see Test in Sandbox.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Sandbox under Account.
  2. In the Members section, click the Add guests icon.
  3. Select guests to add from the dropdown menu, then click Add.
    Guests will receive an email notification that they have been invited to Sandbox and have temporary access to the Sandbox environment when the Sandbox is active.

FAQs

If changes are made to the production environment after the Sandbox is activated, are the updates pushed to Sandbox?
Sandbox activation is copied from the production environment and time-stamped with what is applied. Changes made to the production environment are not updated in the active Sandbox. To update the Sandbox, you must Refresh Sandbox or Deactivate then Reactivate Sandbox.