Once a 1-on-1 is created, the meeting organizer may make edits and invite the other party to see the meeting and use the 1-on-1 page from their end. A calendar event invite will also be sent to both parties.

Get the most out of Bob

Once the invitation is sent, both managers and their direct and indirect reports can collaborate on the meeting agenda by taking an active role in structuring the conversation. Using talking points, comments, and both shared and private notes, both parties can come prepared before the meeting, structure the conversation, and take action afterward. 

How to edit meeting details

The organizer can change meeting details, such as name, time, and date before the meeting time takes.

  1. From the left menu, select Talent > 1-on-1s > My 1-on-1s. 
  2. Click the meeting tile or meeting row that you wish to edit.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Edit.

    Note: To delete a meeting, from the Actions dropdown menu at the top left of the meeting page, select Delete. Click Delete to confirm. This action cannot be undone.

  4. Write a meeting Name.
  5. Select the meeting Date.
  6. Enter the Start and/or End time.
  7. Click Save.

    Note: Changes may not apply in the calendar event, please make sure to update your work calendar accordingly.

How to edit, add, and remove a talking point

Talking points are the main discussion items planned in the meeting. The 1-on-1 organizer may add, edit, or remove talking points while and after creating the 1-on-1 meeting. Once invited, the invitee may also add their own talking points.

Notes:
  • To edit a talking point, click the talking point’s text and edit as desired. Press Enter once you’re done.
  • To add a talking point, click + Add talking point, then type in the text. Press Enter once you're done.
  • To remove a talking point, hover over it and click the trash icon to its right, then click Remove.

How to add, remove, and review comments within a talking point

The 1-on-1 organizer may add comments regarding each specific talking point while and after creating the 1-on-1 meeting. Once invited, the invitee may also add their comments to talking points.

Note: A comment can only be added or deleted, not edited.

  • To add a comment to the talking point, hover over the talking point you wish to comment on and click the comment icon to its right. Enter the text, then click Comment once you're done.
  • To remove a comment you’ve added to a talking point, hover over the comment and click the trash icon.

    Note: This action cannot be undone.

  • To review any comments made regarding a talking point, select the talking point, which will expand it and reveal all comments.
Notes:
  • You can only select a talking point to expand with an arrow icon. This means comments were added to the talking point.
  • To see the number of comments added, look for the number next to the speech bubble icon to the right of the talking point’s text.

How to add notes

Both the organizer and the invitee may add notes that are visible to both meeting participants (useful for summaries!) as well as private notes that will only be visible privately.

  1. To add notes that are visible to both sides, click the text box below Your notes and type.
    Your notes will save automatically.

    Note: These notes may also be visible to particular people with permissions, e.g. your HR admins.

  2. To add notes that will only be visible to you, click Edit private notes and enter your notes into the text box that will appear below.
    Your notes will save automatically.

    Tip: Need to enlarge the notes text box? Click the bottom right corner of the text box, and simultaneously drag it downwards as needed.

How to mark a meeting as complete or incomplete

The organizer may mark the meeting as complete or incomplete once an invite has been sent for their and their organization’s tracking.

  • To mark a 1-on-1 as complete, click Mark complete at the top left of the meeting page. 
  • To unmark a 1-on-1 as complete, click Complete at the top left of the meeting page.