Keep track of automated tasks, whether triggered or pending tasks, as well as complete, reassign, or cancel tasks as needed in Manage tasks.

Get the most out of Bob

As an HR leader you’ll have many tasks to oversee for key people like your HRBPs, Managers, IT people, and employees. Automate your HR processes using Task lists and use the Manage tasks area to keep track and manage everything that’s going on, including:

  • Nudging people to remind them to complete their tasks
  • Reassigning tasks to balance the workload or following organizational changes
  • Canceling scheduled tasks (calendar event or email) that may no longer be relevant
  • Cleaning up completed tasks that were left open

How to view tasks

Use the filters at the top to sort your tasks so you can view specific tasks.

Tip: Use the search icon below the Type filter to quickly find a task using the Task name, Subject, task Type, Task list name, or a name of a person included.

  1. From the left menu, select Tasks > Manage tasks.
  2. In Trigger date, select one of the following, then click Apply.
    • Date range, and select the Start and End dates
    • Preset, and select a time period
    • Cycle, and select a designated day and month
  3. In Status, select one or more of the following, then click Apply.
    • Incomplete: a General or Feedback task is assigned but not yet completed
    • Completed: a General or Feedback task was assigned and completed
    • Triggered: Email, Calendar, 1-on-1 task was assigned and sent
    • Scheduled: a task is scheduled to be triggered by a task list
    • Canceled: a scheduled task was assigned or requested for someone, but removed from their tasks
  4. Select the Assignee(s), who it was Requested for, the Task list(s), or task Type(s), then click Apply.

    Tip: Filter by Task list to easily view the status of a task list with different assignees.

  5. To view the content of a task, hover over a task, then click Details between Task name and Type.
    You will see the details already available to you on the page, such as Trigger date and Assignee, plus more details including the Due Date, Body of the message/Description, and the task activity log, for example. To learn more about the task activity log, see View a task activity log.

    Tip: When you review a single task, you can take action on the task. Click the three-dot menu, then select Mark as complete or incomplete, Nudge, Reassign, or Cancel.

How to mark tasks as complete or incomplete

You can mark General tasks as complete, both individually and in bulk.

  1. Mark the checkbox(es) to the left of the task(s) you want to mark as complete or incomplete.
  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Mark as complete or Mark as incomplete.

    Note: Only completed tasks can be marked as incomplete, and only incomplete tasks can be marked as complete.

  3. Click Apply.
    Now that the General task is marked as complete, tasks dependent on it will be triggered.

How to send nudge reminders

You can send nudge reminders to people who need to complete tasks that have been sent, both individually and in bulk.

  1. Mark the checkbox(es) to the left of the task(s) you want to remind people to complete.
  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Nudge.
  3. Click Apply.
    The assignees will receive a nudge email and notification.

How to reassign tasks

You can reassign incomplete General tasks to another person in your organization, both individually and in bulk.

  1. Mark the checkbox(es) to the left of the task(s) you want to reassign.

    Note: When reassigning multiple tasks at once, they can only be reassigned to one person. Make sure all selected tasks are relevant to the person you reassign the tasks to.

  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Reassign.
  3. Select the new Assignee from the dropdown menu. You can scroll or search for the new assignee.
  4. Click Apply.
    The new assignee will receive an email about the task reassignment.

How to cancel tasks

You can cancel scheduled tasks or an incomplete general task, both individually and in bulk.

  1. Mark the checkbox(es) to the left of the task(s) you want to remind people to complete.
  2. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Cancel.
  3. Click Apply.
    This cannot be undone. The tasks will now have a Canceled status and will not appear for the people they were assigned to or requested for.

FAQs

Why can’t I see a task in Manage tasks?

The Manage tasks page displays tasks that are scheduled or triggered. If for any reason a task did not trigger, it will not appear on the list. A task is not triggered or canceled after being scheduled for a variety of reasons, such as:

  • The tasks’ conditions do not match the Requested for employee
  • Insufficient permissions to the feedback form
  • The assignee of the task in marked as Inactive

Why am I seeing duplicate tasks for the same people on different dates?

Since task lists can be both automated and triggered manually, it may be possible that either the task list was triggered once automatically and once manually, or more than once manually.

Are canceled tasks removed from people’s My tasks or People’s tasks pages?

When a task is canceled it means it won’t be triggered, but will still be visible on the Manage tasks page. To view canceled tasks, select Canceled in the Status filterThe people that the canceled tasks are requested for or assigned to will not see the tasks.

Why can’t I perform an action on a selected task from the Actions dropdown menu?

You can only perform certain actions when selecting multiple tasks of different types or statuses. The actions available will be the ones that apply to all of the selected requests. In effect, some of the Actions on the menu may be greyed out and you can not perform those actions on all selected tasks in bulk.