Learn how to view personal or company reports. Screen_Shot_2022-04-06_at_9.43.38.png

You have created reports and now it's time to view them. What is the difference between how you (the creator of the report) views a report, versus how an employee who has access to reports, views the report, versus other recipients (e.g., external consultants or someone who should not have access to sensitive data) views a report?

The simple answer: All people (employees/CEO/fellow admins etc...) can only see data in reports based on the permissions you or your admin assigned during setup of Bob, but beware; the moment you decide to share this report to recipients via email or via automatic scheduling, then all information, including sensitive employee data (such as salaries or addresses), will be viewable by all recipients, regardless of initial permissions. In essence, the act of sharing a report overrides initial permissions. 

So how can you ensure the right people view specific data in reports? There are three factors that effect who can view reports, and it is very straightforward:

Location: If you created the report and placed it in a folder under My reports, you are the only one able to view the report and all the sensitive data in it, period. If you created the report and placed it in a folder under Company reports, which is public by default, then all employees who have access to the reports module are able to view the report, yet only with the permissions you set up initially. This means that even though the report is public to the company, no employees or individuals will see sensitive data unless they have been given the permissions to do so.

Permissions - If you do not share reports, then the report is viewable by the people that assigned permission to in the initial setup of Bob

Sharing - If you share a report via email or scheduling, then all recipients can see all data, including sensitive employee data. 

Example

Screen_Shot_2022-04-06_at_13.39.51.png

You create a report titled "Salary and title changes," and it contains the salaries and job titles of all employees. Let's say you set up your initial permissions in Bob so that everyone has access to view job titles, but only HR admins and members of the finance team, John and Linda, have access to view salaries. 

  • Scenario 1: If you place the report "Salary and Job title changes," in My reports, only YOU can view the report. 
  • Scenario 2: If you place the report "Salary and Job title changes," in Company reports, all employees will be able to view "Job title" changes, but the column for "Salaries" will remain blank. The exception occurs for HR admins and the finance team (John and Linda), who will be able to view "Job title" changes, as well as employee "salaries."
  • Scenario 3: If you share the report "Salary and Job title changes," via email or scheduling (no matter where it's located), all recipients who get the report will be able to view all information; meaning employees, HR admins, John and Linda and even external recipients will be able to see "titles," as well as "salaries," regardless of permissions.

How to view a report

  1. From the left menu, select Analytics > Reports. 
  2. Click either My reports or Company reports and from the dropdown, select the desired folder.
  3. Click the row of the report that you would like to view.

There are many different folder categories that are pre-set to start you on your journey; It is recommended to create specific reports related to these categories within the appropriate folders. You can always add or remove any folders as you see fit.

Note: If you edit/remove any folders or reports that are within the Company reports section this effects all other report users because Company reports is shared.