Integrating with Jumpcloud allows you to automatically create users in Bob for new hires or update changes to employee profiles and deactivate users when employees leave the company. 

Integration Details

Detail How it works

Integration type

One-way via API

Direction of data flow

Bob to Jumpcloud

Sync trigger

An event

Sync frequency

  • Employee created
  • Employee joined
  • Employee updated

Note: By default, users will begin synchronization on their start date.

Support information

support@hibob.com

Default data mapping

Note: After connecting the integration you can customize the data mapping in the Provisioning settings. To learn more, see Map data for provisioning integrations.

Bob field Jumpcloud field
Email Email
Display name

Username

Note: The Bob employee display name will be sanitized to obtain a valid username value.

First name First Name
Surname Last Name
Middle name Middle Name
Display name Display Name
Work phone Work Phone
Work mobile Work Cell
Title Job Title
Department Department
Employee ID Employee ID
Site Location
Employment type Employment Type

Before you begin

To activate the provisioning process you will need to obtain a JumpCloud API Key.

For full details, see the JumpCloud API documentation.

How to set up JumpCloud provisioning in Bob

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Integrations.
  2. Select Provisioning
  3. In the JumpCloud tile, click Connect.
  4. On the Let's integrate page, click Connect.
  5. In the API Key field enter the API key.
  6. Click Apply.

Behavior

By default, employee active/inactive status in Bob will be synced to JumpCloud. There are two additional possible behaviors as specified below. If you'd like to change from the default behavior, see Manage provisioning integration settings.

The supported options are:

  • Use Bob employee status: If the bob employee is active, the newly created JumpCloud user will also be active. If the bob employee is inactive, the newly created JumpCloud user will be deactivated.

  • Always Activate: All created JumpCloud users will be active.

  • Always Suspend: All created JumpCloud users will be deactivated.

FAQs

Will users created before the JumpCloud integration was created be synchronized to JumpCloud?
Yes, Bob users created before the JumpCloud integration will be synchronized in JumpCloud once one of the mapped properties is updated for an employee in Bob. Users not yet created in JumpCloud will be created, while existing users will be updated. You can also run a manual sync from the Provisioning settings page.