You can update the status on goals by checking in, adding notes, and closing and reopening goals. These might be your personal goals in My goals, People's goals for people you manage, Department's goals for the department you belong to and other departments, or Company goals to which you contribute.

You may check in on one or more key results to indicate your progress along the way.

FYI: Access to these capabilities is managed by your company. If you do not have access and believe you should, then reach out to your company's Bob Admin.

How to check in on a goal's progress

Checking in on a goal means updating how you're advancing in completing the goal. A goal may be on or off track, and a key result may be updated as you progress along the way to achieve it. For instance, you may check in when you've completed 10 percent of a key result, completed a key result, or reached a part of your entire target amount.

  1. From the left menu, select Talent.
  2. Select the goal type you want to check in with: My goals, People's goals, Department's goals, or Company goals.
  3. Select the person whose goals you want to view in People's goals or select the department whose goals you wish to view in the Department's goals.

    Note: Viewing department goals depends on permissions given by the company. In some cases, companies will allow employees to view each department’s goals, not just the department to which they belong.

  4. Select the goal you want to check in with.
  5. Click Check in.
  6. From the dropdown menu, select On Track or Off Track to update the status of the goal's deliverables.

    Note: Goals will remain On Track by default unless changed.

  7. For goals with Key results indicated in the goal creation, update the status of the Key results. For Percentage, Numeric, or Currency key results, enter the amount achieved in the field. For Complete/Incomplete key results, select Incomplete or Complete from the dropdown menus.
  8. Fill in the Check in note field information with comments on the goal's progress.
    This will also appear in the goal's Activity log.
  9. Click Check in.
  10. In the goal's activity log, write a comment in the text field and mention anyone within this goal to either refer to them or to engage them in conversation related to the goal’s progress if they have permissions to view the goal, then click Enter.
    The mentioned person or people with permissions to view the goal will receive a notification email.

    Tip: Comments and mentioning people in the goal’s activity log enable continuous discussion around a goal’s progress. If you'd like to make a quick note about a goal’s progress without a complete check-in, you can add a comment and mention anyone related to the progress of the goal and who has permissions to view the goal.

    Notes:
    • Whenever you update a personal goal, your direct manager will be alerted.
    • Goals without key results will only be checked in as On or Off Track.

How to close and reopen a goal

When you want to wrap up a goal, close the goal, whether complete or incomplete. Closing a goal allows you to check in on the goal's progress once again before giving the goal a final status. Closed goals remain in each goal type section, so you can reopen a closed goal if you need to.

If you want to close goals on behalf of one or more people you manage, whether complete or incomplete, you can do it via People's goals.

  1. From the left menu, select Talent.
  2. Select the goal area you want to close a goal in My goals, People's goals, Department's goals, or Company goals.
  3. Select the person whose goals you want to view in People's goals or select the department whose goals you wish to view in the Department's goals.

    Tip: To select multiple people in People’s goals, mark the checkbox at the uppermost left of the table or the checkboxes to the left of the people whose goals you'd like to close, then select the Actions dropdown menu > Close.

  4. Select the goal you want to close.

    Note: The dropdown menu filters should include Closed statuses to select a closed goal to reopen.

  5. Click Close or Reopen.
  6. From the dropdown menu, select the goal's status: CompleteIncomplete, still in progress but On Track, still in progress but Off Track, or Other.
  7. For goals with Key results indicated in the goal creation, update the status of the Key results. For Percentage, Numeric, or Currency key results, enter the amount achieved in the field. For Complete/Incomplete key results, select Incomplete or Complete from the dropdown menus.
  8. Fill in the Check in note field information with comments on the goal's progress.
    This will also be reflected in the goal's activity log.
  9. Click Check in and close or Check in and reopen.
Notes:
  • If closing multiple People’s goals, a notification will appear. Click Apply.
  • An email notification will be sent to employees whose goals were closed by a manager in People’s goals.
  • Closing goals via bulk actions means that all goals listed under each selected person are marked with the selected closed Status and Check in note.

How to nudge people you manage

Even with the ability to put a time frame on goals and easy access to goals, sometimes people need a gentle reminder to update and complete their goals. If you would like to prompt people to check in on their goals or close them, use the Nudge function in People's goals.

  1. From the left menu, select Talent > People's goals.
  2. Select the person or people whose goal(s) you want to nudge.

    Tip: To select all people, click the box at the uppermost left of the table.

  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Nudge.
  4. Write a subject line and message to remind them about the goals.
  5. Click Send.
    An email will be sent to the goal owner.

    Note: There is no limit to how many nudges may be sent at a given time.