Learn how to upload and manage your eSign templates using this article, including how to mark eSign template as ready for use, return them to draft mode, and how to delete them. Before you begin uploading and managing the templates, ensure that you have the right permissions to manage eSign templates turned on.

How to upload a PDF to the eSign builder

A PDF file is used for eSign template management.

Tip: Need to save your file into a PDF file first? On your non-PDF document, click Save as, then choose PDF from the file format options. This should work across platforms, but if you need further support, use the help centers and support teams of the platform you’re using to edit the original file.

To upload your PDF document:

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Docs.
  2. Select the eSign templates tab.
  3. Click Add template.

Tip: Want to edit an existing template instead? Select the template you wish to edit. The eSign template builder will open.

  1. Drag and drop the file into the uploader, or click the doc icon to select the file from your computer.
  2. Click Upload.
  3. Click Done once your upload is complete.
    Your file will appear in the eSign builder. Now you can start setting up your document. To learn more, see Set up an eSign template.

How to activate, deactivate, and delete an eSign template

Once an eSign template is uploaded, it is set as a draft by default. Deactivating an eSign template means putting it back into draft mode and are unavailable for use until activated. You can also delete a template you don’t intend to use.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Docs.
  2. Select the eSign templates tab.
  3. Mark the checkbox to the left of the template(s) you wish to enable, disable, or delete.
  4. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Mark as Active to enable, Mark as draft to deactivate, or Delete then click Delete again.

Note: An active eSign template may still be edited. Deleting a template cannot be undone.

How to set up permissions to manage eSign templates

617ba4e7385f5

The Admins group preset has this permission turned on by default, indicated using a grey checkmark, but HR leaders may open up the permission to manage eSign templates to other permission groups in your company. To learn more, see Create a custom permission group.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Roles & Permissions.
  2. Click Manage group on the group you wish to grant these permissions to.
  3. In the Manage permissions section, select the Company tab.
  4. Select Docs > eSign templates.
  5. Enable Manage eSign templates permission to activate it or disable it to remove permissions from your selected permission group.
  6. Click Save changes, then click Apply.