When one of your employees leaves your company, whether, by resignation or termination, you'll need to revoke their access. This article explains how to revoke employee access and how to terminate an employee. 

Get the most out of Bob

You may need to revoke employee access for a scheduled termination to prevent access prior to the termination. While an employee is still employed within a company, they won't be able to access the company Org chart, see Shoutouts, or access public Docs, amongst other actions. 

Note: When you terminate an employee, you can maintain all employee information within the system. If you decide to rehire the employee, the system will enable you to rehire the employee with all the information remaining intact.

How to revoke employee access 

  1. From the left menu, select People.

  2. Click Directory.

  3. Mark the checkbox to the left of the employee(s) from whom you'd like to revoke access.

  4. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Access to Bob, then click Revoke employee's access.

    Note: When you revoke employee access, it will not change an employee’s Lifecycle status as they can still be Employed. Depending on their status, employees might still be visible in reports or on the Org chart, up until the actual termination day.

How to terminate an employee

  1. From the left menu, select People.

  2. Click Directory.

  3. Mark the checkbox to the left of the employee(s) from whom you'd like to terminate.

  4. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Change status, Terminate employee then Termination.
  5. Enter the Termination date, Last day of work, Leave type, Termination reason, and Notice (optional).
  6. Click Next.
  7. Review the Termination Summary, then click Done.
    The termination flow will be triggered and employee(s) will be terminated according to the termination date set.

    Note: To rehire a terminated employee, see Rehire a terminated employee.

FAQS

What if I accidentally terminated an employee? Can I undo this termination or do I need to rehire them?

If you want to revert an accidental termination, do not rehire. Instead, on the Lifecycle table within the employee card, delete the termination.

I accidentally revoked access for an employee. How do I provide access again?

You can re-invite an employee to the system. From the left menu, select People then click Directory. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Access to Bob, and Invite employee. From the dropdown list, select employee onboarding, and click Invite.