Revoke access or terminate an employee

You might find yourself in an unfortunate position when you need to revoke access to Bob for an employee or even terminate an employee.

Get the most out of Bob

You might want to revoke an employee’s access when they have a future termination. While they are still employed within the company you don’t want them to access your Org chart, see company Shoutouts, or access public Docs, for example. Revoking access from an employee prevents the employee from accessing Bob before they are terminated.

When you terminate an employee, you can do so while maintaining all of the employee's information within the system. If at a later time you decide to rehire an employee, the system will allow you to rehire with the employee's information intact.

How to revoke access for an employee

  1. From the left menu, select People > Directory.
  2. Mark the checkbox to the left of the employee(s) you want to revoke access from.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Access to Bob > Revoke employee's access.
    This action will prevent the employee(s) from accessing Bob. Depending on their status, employees might still show up in reports or the Org chart, until their actual termination day.

Note: Revoking access will not change the employee’s Lifecycle status as they can still be Employed and show up in the org chart or various reports, they just won’t be able to access the system.

How to terminate an employee

  1. From the left menu, select People > Directory.
  2. Mark the checkbox to the left of the employee(s) you want to terminate from the company.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Change status > Terminate employee > Termination.
  4. Fill in the Termination date, Last day of work, Leave type, Termination reason, and Notice (optional).
  5. Click Next.
  6. Review the Termination Summary, then click Done.
    The termination flow will be triggered and your employee(s) will be terminated according to the date set.

Note: If you want to rehire an employee that has been terminated, see Rehire a terminated employee.

FAQS

What if I accidentally terminated an employee? Can I undo this termination or do I need to rehire them?

If you want to revert an accidental termination, do not rehire. Instead, go to the Lifecycle table on the employee card, then delete the last termination line.

I revoked access for an employee by mistake. How do I reinstate access?

You can re-invite an employee to the system. From left menu, select People > Directory. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Access to Bob > Invite employee. Select your employee onboarding from the dropdown list, then click Invite.