Using Groups, Admins can represent people’s membership to different parts of your company, making it easy to use them anywhere in Bob where advanced filters and conditions exist. With the conditions and rules you set, your group members will be updated automatically to ensure that the correct people are in the group. For example, a group can be:

  • All of the HRBPs in your company
  • The development team of a particular part of your company’s product
  • A Cultural Committee composed of different members across your company
  • Contractors who are working on various projects in your company

How to create a new group

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Groups.
  2. Click + New Group for a first group or click + Add New if a group has already been created.
    Notes:
    • Want to change an existing group instead? Click Manage on the group you would like to change. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Edit.
    • If a group is no longer relevant to your organization, you can delete a group. Hover over the group you want to delete, then click the trash icon to the top right of the group tile. Write DELETE to confirm, then click Delete. This cannot be undone.
  3. Enter a name and description (optional) for your group.
  4. Click Select to add members to the group.
  5. Select the conditions from the dropdown menus and click + Add condition to add more specific conditions or select particular people to be members of the group, then click Apply.

    Tip: Use conditions to automate group membership. E.g., by creating a “Site equals London” condition, all current and new joiners to the London site will be automatically included in the group.

  6. Click Apply.
  7. Select the visibility. Private means only the creator can see and use the group, and Public means everyone in Bob will be able to see and use the group. If you choose Custom, select the conditions from the dropdown menus and click + Add condition to add more specific conditions or select particular people to see the group, then click Apply.
  8. Click Save.
    Now you can use groups across advanced filters and condition-based fields.
Notes:
  • If you select members or visibility by conditions, all conditions must be met for a person to be included in the group.
  • You can use both conditions and select specific people to create members or set visibility for the group.
  • The Groups feature is only visible once people are selected to see and use at least one group.

How to review changes made to a group

To see what changes have been made to your Groups, you can view a record of the changes over time.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Groups.
  2. Click Manage on the group you would like to review.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select View Changes Audit.
  4. Select the Date range, then click Apply.
    • Date range: Select the Start date and End date of when changes were made.
    • Preset: Select the period when the changes were made, such as Today, This Month, or Next year.
    • Cycle: Select the recurring Start and End date of the cycle. Click This month at the top of the calendar to switch between ending the recurring cycle This month or the Previous month.
  5. Select Changed by (optional) to select who made which changes, then click Apply.
    You can review former conditions to the changed conditions and who was added or removed due to the changes.
  6. Click X to exit after reviewing the changes report.

FAQs

What’s the difference between Groups and custom permission groups?

Groups allow people to see and use people’s membership in different aspects of your company across Bob. Groups are currently not available for selection in permission groups to avoid clashing conditions.

On the other hand, permission groups provide specific access to viewing and using different areas of Bob and can only be seen and accessed in Settings > Roles & Permissions.