Using Groups, Admins can represent people’s memberships to different parts of your company. Groups are easy to use anywhere where advanced filters and conditions exist. With the conditions and rules you set, your group members will be updated automatically to ensure that the correct people are in the group. For example, a group can be:

  • All the HRBPs in your company
  • The development team of a particular part of your company’s product
  • A Cultural Committee made up of different members from across your company
  • Contractors who work on various projects 

How to create a new group

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Groups.
  2. For a first group, click + New Group or +Add New if a group has already been created.
  3. Enter a name and description (optional) for your group.
  4. Click Select to add members to the group.
  5. Select the conditions from the dropdown menus and click + Add condition to add more specific conditions or select particular people to be members of the group, and then click Apply.

    Tip: Use conditions to automate group membership. E.g., by creating a “Site equals London” condition, all current and new joiners to the London site will be automatically included in the group.

  6. Click Apply.
  7. Select the visibility: 
    • Private: Only the creator can see and use the group.
    • Public: Everyone in Bob will be able to see and use the group. 
    • Custom: Add more specific conditions. Click Edit. From the dropdown menus, select conditions and click + Add condition as needed. You can also select specific employees. Click Apply.
  8. Click Save.
    Now you can use groups across advanced filters and condition-based fields.

How to review changes made to a group

To see what changes have been made to your Groups, you can view a record of the changes over time.

  1. From the left menu, select Settings > Groups.
  2. Click Manage on the group you would like to review.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu > View Changes Audit.
  4. Select the Date range > Apply.
    • Date range: Select the Start date and End date of when changes were made.
    • Preset: Select the period when the changes were made, such as Today, This Month, or Next year.
    • Cycle: Select the recurring Start and End date of the cycle. Click This month at the top of the calendar to switch between ending the recurring cycle This month or the Previous month.
  5. Select Changed by (optional) to select who made which changes, then click Apply. 
    You can review former conditions to the changed conditions, and who was added or removed due to the changes.
  6. Click X to exit after reviewing the changes report.

FAQs

How do I edit an existing Group? 

To edit an existing group, from the left menu, select Settings > Groups. On the group you’d like to edit, click Manage, and from the Actions dropdown menu, select Edit.

How do I delete a Group? 

Before taking this step, it's important to note that deleting a group cannot be undone. Hover over the group you want to delete, then click the trash icon to the top right of the group tile. Write DELETE to confirm, then click Delete. 

How do I make sure that Group members can access the Group? 

If you select members or visibility by conditions, all conditions must be met for a person to be included in the group. To set visibility for the group, you can use both conditions and select specific people to create members. The Groups feature is only visible once people are selected to see and use at least one group.