Place and return an employee from leave

Managing an employee's departure from your company, whether voluntary or involuntary, temporary or permanent, can all be performed and managed in the system.

FYI: Access to these capabilities is managed by your company's HR Admin. If you don't have access and believe that you should, reach out to them.

Get the most out of Bob

  • You can use Set up a Leave flow to update and track an employee’s status.
  • You can place employees on temporary Leave or Parental leave for employees who are welcoming new family members.
  • You can return an employee to the system manually or with automation.

How to place an employee on leave

Terminating an employee’s employment or placing them on leave may either apply to a specific person or in bulk to multiple people at once.

  1. From the left menu, select People > Directory.
  2. Mark the checkbox to the left of the employee(s) you want to place on leave.
  3. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Change status > Place on leave > Leave or Parental Leave.
  4. Select the Leave date, Leave type, Leave reason, and Leave end date, then click Next.
  5. In the Additional actions section, you can enable Unassign Time off accruals to unassign an employee for their time off policy during their leave, Remain active to permit access to the employee during their leave, and Pause equity vesting to pause the vesting policy during their leave.

    Note: Only the relevant fields will be displayed.

  6. In the Summary section, preview the changes you made, then click Done.
Notes:
  • In any flows that don't have approvers, the selected leave type will be displayed in the employee’s profile header, and the changes will be added as a new row to the Lifecycle table in the affected employee's profile.
  • If a flow has approvers, the changes described will only apply once approved. If a task list and other actions are selected, e.g., allocating the departing employee’s responsibilities to other people in your organization, they'll also be triggered.

How to return an employee from leave

To bring employees back from leave and mark them again as Employed in the lifecycle status, use the return from leave functionality through the People Directory or employee Profile page.

  1. From the left menu, select People > Directory.
  2. From the Lifecycle filter, select Leave or Parental leave, then click Apply.
  3. To the left of the employee(s) you want to return from the leave, mark the checkbox.
  4. From the Actions dropdown menu, select Change status > Return from leave.
  5. Select the Return date.
  6. Click Submit.
    The change will be added as a new row to the Lifecycle table in the affected employee's profile. If the employee was previously inactive during their leave, they will become active again upon the selected return date.

FAQs

How can I edit a lifecycle status change, such as leave?
In the employee profile, click the pencil icon in the top right of the Lifecycle category. Click the three-dot menu on the row you'd like to edit, then make changes. Click Save. To learn more, see Update an employee profile.

How can I terminate an employee from the company?
To learn how to terminate an employee from the company, see Revoke access or terminate an employee.

I selected the leave end date when I placed an employee on leave. The employee's leave is now over. Why are they still on Leave in the system?
Selecting the end date is only for documenting the leave in the employee's profile. To return a person from leave, see the instructions above.