Learn how to upload and manage your eSign templates using this article, including how to mark eSign template as ready for use, return them to draft mode, and how to delete them. Before you begin uploading and managing the templates, ensure that you have the right permissions to manage eSign templates turned on.

How to set up permissions to manage eSign templates

HR leaders may open up the permission to manage eSign templates to other groups in bob using the instructions below.

Note: the out-of-the-box Admins group in bob already has this permission turned on by default, indicated using a greyed-out checkmark

1. Press Settings in the main menu

2. Select Roles & Permissions

3. Click Manage group on the group you wish to grant these permissions to

4. Click on the Company column in the Manage permissions section

5. Click on Docs row. A list of rows will appear to its right

6. Click on the eSign templates row to open the relevant permissions

7. Click on the Manage eSign templates permission to activate it, indicated by a green checkmark

How to manage eSign templates

This section covers how to upload, edit, and enable/disable the use of eSign templates, as well as how to delete them. To learn how to use the different parts of the eSign builder, go to this article.

How to upload a PDF to the eSign editor

bob accepts PDF files for eSign template management. To upload your PDF document, follow the instructions below.

Tip: Need to save your file into a PDF file first? On your non-PDF document, click to “Save as” and then choose “PDF” from the file format options. This should work across platforms, but if you need further support, use the help centers and support teams of the platform you’re using to edit the original file.

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Select Docs

  3. Click on the eSign templates tab at the top left

  4. Click on the Add template button

  5. Click on the Upload PDF button. A file uploader will appear

  6. Upload the file in one of two ways:

    1. Drag and drop the file into the uploader, or

    2. Click on the doc icon to open another popup window

      1. Select the file from your computer

  7. Press the Upload button once the file is uploaded

Perfect! Your file should appear in the eSign editor now. Start setting up your document using the instructions in this article.

How to edit an existing template

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Select Docs

  3. Click on the eSign templates tab at the top left

  4. Click on the template you wish to edit and continue with the instructions in this article

How to enable an eSign template for use in bob

Once an eSign template is uploaded, it is set as a draft by default. Templates that are not available for use in bob have a grey Draft status, while those available for use have a green Active status in the status column. To enable the use of the template across bob, follow these instructions:

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Select Docs

  3. Click on the eSign templates tab at the top left

  4. Check the box of one or more templates you wish to enable for use, i.e. in Draft status

  5. Click on the Actions button at the top left of the templates table

  6. Select Mark as ready to use

Note: an active eSign template may still be edited

How to disable an eSign template from being used in bob

Disabling an eSign template essentially means putting it back into draft mode. Templates that are not available for use in bob have a grey Draft status, while those available for use have a green Active status in the status column. To completely delete a template, go to the next section of the article.

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Select Docs

  3. Click on the eSign templates tab at the top left

  4. Check the box of one or more templates you wish to disable, i.e. are in Active status

  5. Click on the Actions button at the top left of the templates table

  6. Select Mark as draft

How to delete an eSign template

Deleting an eSign template can be done easily using the following instructions.

Note: this action may not be undone.

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Select Docs

  3. Click on the eSign templates tab at the top left

  4. Check the box of one or more templates you wish to enable for use that are in Active status

  5. Click on the Actions button at the top left of the templates table

  6. Select Delete

Need more help? If you're unsure about anything please send us a message through the chat icon below. You can also check the following articles that may help:

Did this answer your question?