Using bob’s Groups, Admins can represent people’s membership to different parts of your company, making it easy to use them anywhere in bob where advanced filters and conditions exist. Using conditions and rules, your group members will be updated automatically to ensure that the correct people are in the group. For example, a Group can be:

  • All of the HRBPs in your company

  • The development team of a particular part of your company’s product

  • A Cultural Committee composed of different members across your company

  • Contractors who are working on different projects in your company

What’s the difference between Groups and Custom Permission Groups?

Groups in bob allow people to see and use people’s membership to different aspects of your company across bob like in the examples above. Permission Groups on the other hand directly provide specific access to viewing and using different areas in bob, and can only be seen and accessed in the Roles & Permissions .

Note: Groups are not available in permission groups to avoid clashing conditions.

How to set up a new group

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Click Groups

  3. Click + Add New

  4. Enter your group’s name in the Name field

  5. Provide a Description of the group

  6. Click the Select button under the Members section

  7. Choose the group’s members using one or both methods:
    a. Create a set of conditions:
    i. To add a new condition, click + Add condition and select the desired values in each of the dropdowns from left to right
    ii. Repeat to add more conditions
    Note: All conditions must be met for a person to be included in the group
    iii. Click Apply
    b. Select specific employees
    i. Click on the Specific employees dropdown
    ii. Scroll or search for the employee(s) that you’d like to select and click to add
    iii. Click Apply

  8. Once you’ve finished selecting all of your group members, click Apply to save and close the window

  9. Select the group’s Visibility out of the following options:
    a. Select Private visibility to only allow creator to see and use the group in bob
    b. Select Public visibility so that everyone in bob will be able to see and use the group in bob
    c. Select Custom visibility to select specific people and conditions for who can see and use the group in bob. You can do this in one or both methods:
    i. Create a set of conditions:
    1. To add a new condition, click + Add condition and select the desired values in each of the dropdowns from left to right
    2. Repeat to add more conditions
    Note: All conditions must be met for a person to be included
    3. Click Apply
    ii. Select specific employees
    1. Click on the Specific employees dropdown
    2. Scroll or search for the employee(s) that you’d like to select and click to add
    3. Click Apply

  10. Click Save

Now you can use groups across bob’s advanced filters and condition-based fields!

Note: groups are only visible throughout bob once people are selected to see and use at least one group

Tip: Use conditions to automate group membership, e.g. by creating a “Site equals London” condition, all current and new joiners to the London site will be automatically included in the group.

How to edit a group

To make any changes to your group settings including group members and visibility, follow these steps:

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Click Groups and click Manage Group for the group that you’d like to edit

  3. Click Actions at the top right corner

  4. Change the group’s name by entering it in the Name field

  5. Change the description by

  6. Select Edit in the Members section to change group members
    a. To delete a condition: hover over it and click the trash icon that appears to the right of the condition
    b. To remove a specific person: click on the Specific employees dropdown and deselect whoever you wish and click Apply
    c. Click Apply once you’ve completed all of your edits

  7. Select the group’s Visibility out of the following options:
    a. Select Private visibility to only allow creator to see and use the group in bob
    b. Select Public visibility so that everyone in bob will be able to see and use the group in bob
    c. Select Custom visibility to select specific people and conditions for who can see and use the group in bob. You can do this in one or both methods:
    i. Create a set of conditions:
    1. To add a new condition, click + Add condition and select the desired values in each of the dropdowns from left to right
    2. Repeat to add more conditions
    Note: All conditions must be met for a person to be included
    3. Click Apply
    ii. Select specific employees
    1. Click on the Specific employees dropdown
    2. Scroll or search for the employee(s) that you’d like to select and click to add
    3. Click Apply

  8. Click Save

To see the history of all changes made to each group, use the Changes audit log.

How to delete a group

To delete a group:

  1. Hover over it and click on the trash icon at the top left

  2. Type DELETE to confirm

  3. Click Delete

Note: this action cannot be undone

How to review changes made to groups

To see what changes have been made to your Groups, you can view a record of the changes that have been made over time.

To view the audit log of the a group:

  1. Press Settings in the main menu

  2. Click Groups and click the Manage button of the group that you’d like to review

  3. Click Actions at the top right corner

  4. Select View Changes Audit

  5. Press on the calendar icon in the Date range field

  6. Define the time period for which data will be displayed using one of three methods:
    a. Date range
    i. Click on the field below Start date to select the beginning of your desired date range from the calendar
    ii. Click on the field below End month to select the a end of your desired date range from the calendar
    iii. Click Apply
    b. Preset range
    i. Click the radio button to the left of Preset
    ii. Choose the desired period from the list
    iii. Click Apply
    c. Cycle range
    i. Click the radio button to the left of Cycle
    ii. Click on the field below Start to choose the beginning of the recurring audit cycle
    1. Click on This month at the top of the calendar to switch between beginning the recurring cycle This month or in the Previous month
    2. Select a recurring day of the month from the calendar as the start of the cycle
    iii. Click on the field below End to choose the end of the recurring audit cycle
    1. Click on This month at the top of the calendar to switch between ending the recurring cycle This month or in the Previous month
    2. Select a recurring day of the month from the calendar as the end of the cycle
    iv. Click Apply

  7. Filter to see who made which changes in Changed by (optional)

  8. Click X to exit

Need more help? If you're unsure about anything please send us a message through the chat icon below.

Did this answer your question?