Managing an employee's departure from your organization, whether voluntary or involuntary, temporary or permanent, needs to be done accurately, efficiently and delicately. bob simplifies leave management with out-of-the-box and customizable leave/termination flows for updating and tracking the employee’s status, ensuring no loose ends are left behind and of parting ways gracefully.

Additionally, you'll be able to reassign any open tasks; ownership of performance cycles and surveys; scheduled reports, or even a manager's team to make sure things keep running smoothly in your organization.

The different types of leave flows in bob

There are three different types of leave flows in bob:

  1. Leave for people taking a temporary leave

  2. Parental leave for people going on a parental leave

  3. Termination for people whose contract with your company is ending

Each flow has default fields and settings to match the particular type of leave selected, i.e. a leave flow will have a “leave end date” field since the departing employee is expected to return to the company, whereas a termination flow will have a “last day of work” field since they’re ending an employment contract.

You can create flows by creating your own custom leave flow or by duplicating and/or editing an existing one.

Before beginning, consider the following when creating leave flows:

  • When selecting people to place on leave, only the leave flows that apply to the selected employee(s) will be displayed, e.g. a parental leave flow with conditions set up to only apply to people in a London site will only appear as an option for people in the London site

  • People in your organization who have the permission to trigger termination/leave flows (e.g. managers) will be able to see the flows available to them when they have the permissions to view the employee lifecycle section and any other sections included in the flow(s)

How to create a custom leave flow

  1. Press Settings

  2. Select Flows

  3. Select the Leave tab at the top of the screen

  4. Click on + Add new

Details

  1. Select the desired leave type:

    1. Leave for people taking a temporary leave

    2. Parental leave for people going on a parental leave

    3. Termination for people whose contract with your company is ending

  2. Enter the flow’s name under Name. This will be the name displayed when applying the flow to people in your company.

  3. Provide a Description of the event. This step is optional and can help you and others setting up flows align on which flow is used for which purpose in your company

  4. Select who the flow Applies to in your company. You can make the following changes:

    1. To switch to applying to All employees, press the option button to its left

    2. To switch to basing on conditions, press the option button to the left of Select by condition

      1. Click Edit

      2. To add a new condition, click + Add condition

      3. Select whether you’d like to create conditions By Field or By Group

      4. Select the desired values in each of the dropdowns from left to right

      5. Repeat and add as many conditions as you’d like

      6. Click Apply once you’re done

    3. To remove or edit existing conditions in the Select by condition option click + Edit

      1. To edit, click on the relevant dropdown and select the desired value

      2. To delete a condition, hover over it and click the trash icon that appears to the right of the condition

      3. Click Apply once you’re done

    4. To switch to applying to specific employees, press the option button to the left of Select by name

      1. Click Select

      2. Scroll or search to locate people and click on the box to their left to select

      3. Repeat as needed

      4. Click the Select button

  5. Click Next

Categories and fields

Each flow has default fields and settings to match the particular type of leave selected, which are mentioned under Leave details. Explanations of what each field means can be reviewed in this article.

You may add more fields under Additional fields by following these steps:

  1. Scroll or search for the categories (in bold) or the employee field(s) that you’d like to include and tick the box to their left

  2. Remove additional fields by clicking on the X next to their title in the area to the right

  3. Click Next

Tip: create a text field column in the Lifecycle category table to enable writing comments about the employee’s leave. By creating it there, the column table will be automatically added across leave flows without needing to select it in Additional fields each time.

Note: employees who have permissions to trigger leave and termination flows may only be able to see the flows if they also have permissions to view the selected categories and fields in this section.

Additional steps

In this part of the wizard you can set flow approvers, notifications, and task lists to accompany the flow. Each of these are optional and can be deactivated by switching the toggle off.

How to set and select approvers

You may create an approval process that will begin once the leave flow is activated.

  1. Activate the Set approvers toggle to include who will approve the flow

  2. Click on the first dropdown menu to search or select the first approver of the flow, either by role, e.g. HRBP, Manager, etc. or by an employee’s name

    1. To include more people in the flow, click on the Select button and repeat the above step 2 as needed

  3. To change an approver, click on the dropdown of the approver you wish to change

    1. Search or select the role or an employee’s name

  4. To delete an approver, hover over the approver you wish to delete and click on the trash icon that will appear to the right

Note: admins may override other people in the approval of a flow.

How to set notifications upon flow approval

To enable bob to send notifications to people in your organization once the flow has been fully approved using the following steps:

  1. Activate the Set notifications toggle

  2. To add notification recipients, scroll or search for the employee(s) and/or role(s) that you’d like to select and click to add

  3. To delete notification recipients, use one of two ways:

    1. Click on the X on the employee’s role or name whom you wish to remove

    2. Click Clear to remove all recipients at once

How to include a task list in the flow

You may select a task list (e.g. an offboarding task list) to be triggered once the flow has been approved.

  1. Activate the Set task list toggle

  2. Click on the dropdown below Task list

  3. Scroll or search for the task list you wish to trigger

Once you have set up the approvers, notifications, and task lists for your flow, click Done. Congrats! You can now trigger the leave flow.

How to edit and duplicate a leave flow

  1. Press Settings

  2. Select Flows

  3. Select the Leave tab at the top of the screen

  4. To duplicate and edit a flow, click on the three dot menu of the flow you’d like to duplicate

    1. Select Duplicate. The new event will be at the top in draft status, displaying the same name as the original event with "copy" at the end. Continue to edit the flow as needed.

  5. To edit an existing flow, click on Manage at the bottom right corner of the flow you’d like to edit

You’ll be prompted to begin editing the Details page of the flow, but you may click the Categories and fields or Additional steps parts of the stepper to edit them directly.

How to delete a leave flow

To delete a leave flow, follow these steps:

  1. Press Settings

  2. Select Flows

  3. Select the Leave tab at the top of the screen

  4. Click on the three dot menu of the leave flow you wish to delete

  5. Press the Delete button

Need more help? If you're unsure about anything please send us a message through the chat icon below or check the following articles that may also be helpful to you:

Did this answer your question?