Connect NetSuite and bob to sync employee data and updates. Here’s how to set up a working bob NetSuite integration. Note that these instructions might need to be completed by your IT department.


With bob and NetSuite, you can:

  • Activate NetSuite employee records when they are activated in bob
  • Sync employee information upon changes in bob
  • Deactivate employees when they are deactivated in bob.
  • Delete employee records from NetSuite when they are deleted from bob

Prerequisites

The first step is to make sure the following prerequisites are met:

  • The SOAP Web Services feature is enabled 
  • The Token-based Authentication feature is enabled 
  • Optional - The Locations feature is enabled
  • Optional - The Auto-Generated Numbers feature is disabled for employees
  • A NetSuite integration record with Token-based Authentication
  • A NetSuite user role for Web Services access
  • A NetSuite user with the assigned role for Web Services access
  • A NetSuite access token

For more information about how to fulfill the prerequisites, see NetSuite Setup.

Connection details

The following information is needed to set up the bob NetSuite integration. Please fill in the following: values under the Customer value column.

Setup

Enable the SOAP Web Services feature in NetSuite. Head over to the Enabling the SOAP Web Services Feature NetSuite help article for more details which can be accessed here: https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_n3419926.html

Enable the Token-based Authentication feature

See the Enable the Token-based Authentication Feature NetSuite help article from the “Account Administration” documentation. Access it here:

https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=bridgehead_4253254429.html

Enable the Locations feature

The NetSuite Locations feature is required in order to synchronize the bob employee work site to the NetSuite employee location. This step is optional as the bob NetSuite integration can be configured to work without this field.

To enable the Locations feature, go to Setup > Company > Setup Tasks > Enable Features. On the Company subtab, check the Locations box and then click Save.

Disable the Auto-Generated Numbers feature

The NetSuite Auto-Generated Numbers feature automatically assigns newly created NetSuite employees an ID. In order to sync the bob employee ID to the NetSuite employee, the Auto-Generated Numbers feature must be disabled for employees. This step is optional as the bob NetSuite integration can be configured to work without this field.

To disable the Auto-Generated Numbers feature, go to Setup > Company > Auto-Generated Numbers. On the Entities subtab, uncheck the Enable box, check the Allow Override box and then click Save.

See the Set Auto-Generated Numbers NetSuite help article from the Account Administration documentation. Access it here: https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_N252198.html

Create an integration record for the bob NetSuite integration

See the Creating an Integration Record NetSuite help article from the SuiteTalk SOAP Web Services Platform Guide, which can be accessed here: https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_4393879073.html

Note: The NetSuite consumer key & secret values are displayed in the NetSuite UI only once when the NetSuite integration record is created.

Create a custom role for the bob NetSuite integration

A custom role must be created with the permissions listed in Required Permissions.

See the Customizing or Creating NetSuite Roles from the Account Administration guide, which can be accessed here: https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_N285937.html

Note: An existing role can also be used as long as it has the needed permissions.

Link:

NetSuite user

The bob NetSuite integration uses NetSuite access tokens in order to synchronize bob employees to NetSuite. NetSuite access tokens must be assigned to a NetSuite user.

A NetSuite user assigned with the custom Web Service role (see Create a custom role for the bob <> NetSuite integration) is required. You can either use an existing user or create a new one for this purpose.

See the following help articles from the Employee Management guide:

  • Adding an Employee Record
  • Giving an Employee Access to NetSuite
  • Assigning Roles to an Employee

Access these via the following links:
https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_N894212.html
https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_N896195.html
https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=section_N897798.html

Creating the NetSuite access token

See the Access Token Management – Create and Assign a TBA Token from the Account Administration documentation, which can be accessed here: https://<YOURNETSUITEDOMAIN>/app/help/helpcenter.nl?fid=bridgehead_4254081947.html

Note:  The NetSuite token ID & secret values are displayed in the NetSuite UI only once when the NetSuite access token is created.

Web Services URL

The NetSuite Web Service URL can be found under Setup - Company - Company Information - Company URLs under SUITETALK (SOAP AND REST WEB SERVICES).

Account ID

The NetSuite account ID can be found under Setup - Company - Company Information under ACCOUNT ID.

Permissions

Here are the permissions required for the NetSuite and bob integration. Note that it may take a few hours for the NetSuite permissions to take effect.

The permissions are as follows:

How it Works

When is a user created in NetSuite?

Based on your configuration, bob can create a NetSuite user once the user's profile has been created in bob, or based on employees' status in bob.

Possible bob triggers to create a new NetSuite user:

  • Employee created
  • Employee joined
  • Employee updated

Note: By default users will begin syncing on their start date

Will employee updates be synced?

You can define when you want bob to sync to NetSuite and deactivate users or to sync changes made to employee information in bob. You can choose your preferred behavior and field mappings, just contact bob's support team and let us know your preferences.

Possible bob events to trigger syncing:

  • Employee updated in bob = User information synced in NetSuite (according to defined field mapping)
  • Employee activated in bob = User activated in NetSuite
  • Employee inactivated in bob = User deactivation in NetSuite
  • Employee deleted in bob = User deactivation in NetSuite

Note: By default users will begin syncing on their start date

Behavior

By default, employee active/inactive status in bob will be synced to NetSuite. There are two additional possible behaviors as specified below. If you'd like to change from the default behavior, please contact bob's support team.

The supported options are:

  • Use bob employee status: If the bob employee is active, the newly created NetSuite user will also be active. If the bob employee is inactive, the newly created NetSuite user will be deactivated
  • Always Activate: All created NetSuite users will be active
  • Always Suspend: All created NetSuite users will be deactivated

Default user field mapping

You define how bob employee fields will be mapped to NetSuite fields. The synchronization of user information will be according to the user field mappings you define. The below table shows the default field mappings.

That’s it! Now you’re ready to sync your NetSuite with bob employee accounts.

Did this answer your question?