Why set up provisioning?

Improve the HR - IT flow with provisioning's auto-sync capabilities that automatically update changes, create accounts for new hires, or close accounts for terminated employees. 


How Does It Work?

When is the user created in Okta?

Based on your configuration, bob can create a user once the user's profile has been created in bob.


Will employee updates be synced?

bob can also keep the employee’s Okta record in sync with certain updates you make to the employee’s profile in bob. The bob - Okta integration supports dynamic field mapping, meaning that any bob employee field can be mapped to any Okta user field including custom fields. Send us your preferred field mappings, or stick with the default.


Default field mapping

Please ensure the field names in bob and Okta match so the information can be mapped correctly. 


Setup

How to set up Okta provisioning

In order to configure an Okta integration, you'll need the following information:

  • Okta API token
  • Your Okta domain
  • These Okta permissions:

                    - View users
                    - Activate & deactivate users
                    - Create users
                    - Edit profiles
                    - Manage Profile Editor

To gain access to the required APIs, the Okta API token must be generated by a Super Administrator or Organization Administrator.

For more information about Okta roles and permissions follow this link for additional information.

Don't know how to create an Okta API token? Follow this
link for additional information.

Don't know how to determine your company's Okta domain? Follow this link for additional information. 


Setup in bob

Once you have your Okta API token and domain you can start configuring the integration in bob.

  1. Go to Settings > Integrations > Provisioning > Okta.
  2. Enter your API token and Okta domain into the relevant fields.
  3. Click Save.


Choose your activation mode

The bob - Okta integration synchronizes bob employee changes to the Okta user directory by default when the user is created. It is possible to change this default action and define synching on start date.

Newly created Okta users can be activated in the following 3 modes:

  1. Always activate
  2. Never activate
  3. Use bob employee status (active bob employees will result in activated Okta users)


Need more help? If you're unsure about anything please send us a message through the chat icon below.

Did this answer your question?